“Heartfelt, clever lyrics and sonically intelligent, the boisterous LATVIAN RADIO relishes an underground garage sound with the feel of sunshine pop.”  
– Amplifier Magazine

Six prior LPs established pedigree, Give In To The Night steps up their game.”
“2017’s gem Pick Your Poison, Pick Your Blues revealed their maturation, but
perfecting that craft is in order here.”
“There’s something glorious about these big chorus hooks, multidimensional new
wave flecks, 1965 Kinks bounce, plus crafty, welcome political distaste.”

Jack Rabid, Big Takeover Magazine

Latvian Radio has spent a full decade now crafting their own brand of lyrically charged and sonically intelligent indie-power-pop. Amplifier Magazine labeled their songs as “Music as both entertainment and art. Truly the best variety.”

With their 7th release “Give In To The Night” they have made their most prolific and ambitous album to date.
It blends their signature melodic hooks with angular, abrasive guitars and at times a stark post-punk ambiance.
It has the endless melodic hooks you have come to expect but is equally fueled by a dark and weary undercurrent in the wake of a world that can’t get out of its own way.
It explores even deeper into the psyche of prolific songwriter Patric Westoo, and his sonically dense, yet impossibly melodic backing band.

Latvian Radio has been a mainstay on college radio since their 2006 release “Happiness Above A Hardwood Floor”. San Francisco based “Bagel Radio” had them in the top 5 for three straight weeks and “Saturday Left Her On The Floor” made their list of top 50 songs of 2006 at number 32. Their second album “Seven Layers Of Self Defense” made the CMJ top 200 chart for five straight weeks. Absolute Power Pop had it on their best records of the year list in 2009, “For love & spite” made it into the top 10, and listed again in 2016 for “Until tomorrow gets in the way”. Powerpopaholic wrote: “Overall a terrific album without a wasted track”.

The press has linked Latvian Radio to the likes of Elvis Costello & the Attractions, the Replacements, the Shins, the Decemberists, New Pornographers, Big Star and early REM.

After releasing three solo albums, NY based singer/songwriter Patric Westoo, teamed up with longtime Morgantown, WV friends Kim Monday (multi instrumentalist and director of Frozen Sound recording studio), Mark Poole (63 Eyes and Phantom Six) and Brian Porterfield (Cheap Truckers Speed) to form The B-sides in 2002. Their songs were short, raw, uncompromising and delivered with a great pop-sensibility. They released “Troubleshooting” in 2003. The opening track, “Letter To the National Enquirer”, was nominated for best rock song at the independent “Just Plain Folks Music Awards” in Santa Ana, CA.

When the time came to release their second record it was apparent that their name, the B-Sides, was taken many times over. They decided a change was necessary and went with Latvian Radio. Same raw energy, armed with stronger songs and a bigger more elaborate sound. Their ever evolving lineup also includes Jason Victor (Dream Syndicate) on guitar, Alex Baker (Skull practitioners) on drums and Patrick Derivaz (Tom Verlaine) on bass.

“Smart, mellifluously melodic candy”  
– Jack Rabid, The Big Takover

If you are Into early REM or the Replacements, give these guys a shot.”
– Alan Cross, A Journal Of Musical Things

“One of my favorites.”
– Absolute Powerpop

“The type of underground college radio phenomenon that we all came for.”
-WLUR 91.5 Music Review

“A stellar take on the power-Pop style. Lyrics have a unique substance to them
that maintain a slight catchiness while riding a groove.”

– MoAf Magazine


CD Baby
Kool Kat Musik
Last FM