New Stellan Wahlström Drift Band single out now & the new album coming in September

The new single “Through the alleys, across the squares” from the coming album “As real as in a dream” is now released!
Pounding drums, vibrating Rhodes electric piano, raw Telecasters and a yearning lap steel. Singer lost in dark back alleys. Plus English horn.
Recorded live in the studio straight on to tape by Alexander Pierre at Örnsbergs Musikstudio, Stockholm and mixed by Patrick Derivaz in New York.

The release date of the new album “As real as in a dream” is now set for September 16th!

You can choose your preferred listening below.
All listening links here

Everything else you need to know about Stellan Wahlström Drift Band

NY based college radio faves Latvian Radio has been slinging their own brand of melodic, boisterous indie/power-pop to
critical acclaim for a decade and a half. Most of their 7 albums have charted on college radio and ended up on multiple best album
of the year lists. With their 8th release “Phooey!” they return to their power-pop roots with an added punch reminiscent of band
favorites like the Replacements and the Plimsouls.
Here’s a first taste of one of the opening tracks of the album – “Make believe”.

“Phooey!” can now be found on any and all of your prefered listening places, although there’s a weird glitch in the first song,
so until that is fixed (very soon), go straight to the second track!


Two great reviews of the new album have already appeared:

“Patric Westoo sure isn’t losing his power-pop touch. Nor has the band lost its flair on Phooey’s many mid-temp rockers. That’s why it’s fun/striking, and not unwelcome, that they begin on such a different tack. As if to throw us off their regular scent. Westoo punches out a faster punk/Flying Nun blend on “Sliding Down A Ladder” then “Make Believe”, with equal success. Turns out any Latvian Radio is good radio.”
– Jack Rabid, the Big Takeover Magazine

Patric Westoo returns to his power-pop roots with his latest effort Phooey! as it recalls Chris Stamey, R.E.M., and The Plimsouls with its catchy jangle on the opening gems “Sliding Down A Ladder” and “Make Believe.” The echoing beat of “Waiting On A Letter” is another winner with its bluesy guitar flourishes over the dense jangling rhythm. The late 60s psyche-pop influences are still there with the catchy “Out This Door,” but the best song here is the bouncy gem “Bloody Mary Me Marie” about meeting a girl at a chance encounter. The chorus echoes out the lyrics and the instrumentation is top-notch here.
The album’s second half doesn’t match that effort, but it still contains great songs like “Not Anymore” and “Genie In Bottle Alright.” The songwriting here is another strength under the surface, as the lone ballad “The Simple Kind” shows a maturity to Westoo’s storytelling ability. This album is a grower that requires a few spins before it sinks in, and it’s worth the effort. Highly Recommended.

– Powerpopoholic

Words about previous albums:

“Heartfelt, clever lyrics and sonically intelligent, Latvian Radio relishes an underground sound with the flair of sunshine pop.”
– Amplifier Magazine

“Intelligent and well crafted by musicians at the height of their imagination and creativity.”
– The Ringmaster Review

“One of my favorites.”
– Absolute Powerpop

“Album of the week! It fuses old school alternative rock and vintage punk with new wave and mod.”
– Motif Magazine